Turks Head Colts

Turk's Head
Turk's Head 49-51 Morley Street,
St Helens
WA10 2DQ


Contact: Paul Coffey

The 'Colts' were, for four seasons, sharing the Running Horses as their home venue, as a team bearing the pub's name played there and indeed had been one of the original ten founder members. This team continued to compete from 1986 until they folded at the end of the 1993 season when, ironically, they had just finished in the top spot in Division Three, quitting at the top.

They decided to retain their name and have played under it in all divisions of the league with fluctuating levels of success.  Having gained promotion at the end of 2001 the 'Colts' were unable to defend their Division One status and returned to Division Two for the 2003 season. The one goal that has eluded them to date is an appearance in any Knockout Competition Final.

They became the winners of a Division Two Knockout Cup competition in 2005 when they beat Bath Springs Aces in a thrilling final held at Upholland Conservative Club-

After a six year gap the team found themselves, at the end of 2007, recipients of the Darbyshire 5hield as runners-up in Division Two. A further three seasons passed before the team once again found themselves amongst the honours, this time going one better as winners of Division Two and with it the Graham Darbyshire Cup.

The membership consists of Paul Coffey (who Is the Team Secretary, Contact number 01744 833499 email drpaulcoffev@mail.com). Bill Gerrard, and Francis Williams, with former players Les Hewitt, Colin Davies, Francis Sephton, , Brian Mason, Bapi Bhabani, now playing only infrequently, and long time stalwart John Deady who sadly passed away in 2009.



Talbot Ale House


1991 Winners Division Three, Presidents Cup
1993 Runners-Up Division Two, Darbyshire Shield
1996 Runners-Up Division Two, Darbyshire Shield
1999 Promoted to Division One in reorganisation
2001 Runners-Up Division Two, Darbyshire Shield
2005 Winners Division Two Knockout CupCompetition
2007 Runners-Up Division Two; Darbyshire Shield
2010 Winners Division Two, Graham Darbyshire Cup
2011 Runners Up Division Two
2015 Knockout Cup Winners



Fixture Date Opposition Venue
02/04/2019 Britannia H
09/04/2019 UVC Blues H
16/04/2019 Millstone A
23/04/2019 Masons H
30/04/2019 Bryn Labour Club A
07/05/2019 Robin Hood H
14/05/2019 Merrymen H
21/05/2019 Bryn PLC A
28/05/2019 Delph H
04/06/2019 Britannia A
11/06/2019 UVC Blues A
18/06/2019 Millstone H
25/06/2019 Masons A
02/07/2019 Bryn Labour Club H
09/07/2019 Robin Hood A
16/07/2019 Merrymen A
23/07/2019 Bryn PLC H
30/07/2019 Delph A