Bryn Aces

Bryn Labour Club
Park Lane Club311-317 Wigan Road
Lancashire, WN4 9SX

‚Äč01942 727133

Bryn Hall are, without doubt, one of the League's most popular teams.  Having sought membership of the League in time for the 1989 season, they have remained solid members ever since.  As a team they proved themselves to be more than able to give a good account of themselves in competition whilst remaining sociable and hospitable. They are, as a result, held in high regard throughout the League. 

It came as no surprise to anyone other than the team themselves when, in 2000, they were voted recipients of the Ted Owen Memorial Rose Bowl as the most sporting team in the League.  In essence the team itself has changed its personnel very little over the years, with the core players of Allan and Marilyn Pugh, and Mavis Robson seemingly ever present, these stalwarts are more than ably supported by Brian Brown and Keith Eyre who make up this compact and very useful squad. The only member of this team to have played elsewhere is Keith who joined the rest when the Oddfellows Arms team ceased to be at the end of 1997. 

The close of the 2007 season saw the team win only their second divisional title in a membership spanning eighteen years, when they took the Graham Darbyshire Cup as Champions of Division Two and there was individual success too for Brian Brown who won the Knockout Pairs Competition partnered by Pat Gibson of Simms Road. It was unfortunate for the team that their subsequent elevation lasted for just one season as they had to endure relegation at the end of 2008.  The season was not a complete loss however as the team finished as Runners-up in the Knockout Plate Competition and were awarded for the second time, the highly prized Ted Owen Memorial Rose Bowl as the League's most sporting team.

As a result of uncertain opening times at Park Lane, the team moved to Bryn Labour Club towards the end of the season in 2014.


Bryn Hall


1990 Winners Division Three President's Cup Winners
1995/6 Winners Superbowl Competition (close season comp.) 
1997/8 Winners Superbowl Competition (close season comp.)
1999 Runners-Up Division Two Darbyshire Shield
1999/00 Runners-Up Superbowl Competition (close season comp.)
2000 Winners Ted Owen Memorial Rose Bowl 
2002/3 Runners-Up Superbowl Competition (close season comp.)
2005 Runners-Up League Knockout Plate 
2007 Winners Division Two Graham Darbyshire Cup
2008 Winners Ted Owen Memorial Rose Bowl
2008 Runners-Up League Knockout Plate



Fixture Date Opposition Venue
02/04/2019 Robin Hood H
09/04/2019 Delph A
16/04/2019 Britannia H
23/04/2019 UVC Blues A
30/04/2019 Millstone A
07/05/2019 Masons H
14/05/2019 Bryn Labour Club A
21/05/2019 Talbot Colts H
28/05/2019 Merrymen H
04/06/2019 Robin Hood A
11/06/2019 Delph H
18/06/2019 Britannia A
25/06/2019 UVC Blues H
02/07/2019 Millstone H
09/07/2019 Masons A
16/07/2019 Bryn Labour Club H
23/07/2019 Talbot Colts A
30/07/2019 Merrymen A